All Posts in Category: FAQ
How long can you be on Worker’s Comp?
A common question that many people have when they are injured on the job in South Carolina is often, “how long can I be on worker’s compensation.” Like most things in today’s field of Worker’s Compensation law, the answer depends on several factors. Workers Compensation is a limited benefits system, it is not the equivalent to what many people think of when they say “disability”. An injured worker in South Carolina may only receive five hundred weeks of benefits, at the most. Five hundred weeks, or a little more than nine years is the absolute longest anyone can “be on workers comp”.… Read More
How to File in Small Claims Court
In the event you find yourself with a potential claim that may be too small to warrant an attorney opening a file, it may be your best option to file your claim in small claims court. In South Carolina, small claims court, sometimes referred to as magistrate’s court, has a jurisdictional limit of seven thousand five hundred ($7500.00). Accordingly, any claim with the value $7500.00 or less can be filed in small claims court. Many of the case pending in small claims court have not attorney involvement. The staff at the magistrate’s court are invariably very friendly and helpful, and can answer… Read More